最新消息

疾病控制中心(CDC)頒布在2021年1月31日前全國禁止驅逐租戶令

疾病控制中心(CDC)頒布了一項在年底前全國禁止驅逐租戶的緊令,該禁令保護了數百萬在疫情期間失去收入的租戶。CDC希望防止在COVID-19疫情期間陷入困境的租客群體由於被驅逐而流落街頭或搬入更為擁擠的住房群體內潛在的感染。 在2020年12月21日,國會通過了第二項援助法案,CDC將暫停令延長至2021年1月31日。

在禁令下,符合條件的租客可在2021年1月31日之前不能因為不支付租金而被驅逐。請注意,該禁令不能免除租金。您仍然有義務支付租金,並且在禁令到期之後或由於其他原因(除未欠房租之外的原因)仍可能被驅逐。閱讀更多...

HTC主席Rich Maroko的新年致辭

2021年1月1日 上午9點50分

撰寫自HTC主席Rich Maroko

新年快樂。我希望在您看到此信時,您和您所愛的人能身體健康。當我們結束這一極其艱鉅的一年並進入2021年時,我想讓大家了解我對來年的期望。閱讀更多...

紐約通過全美最強的驅逐和房屋拍賣禁令

2020年12月29日 下午5點40分

在12月28日,紐約州州長庫莫(Andrew Cuomo)簽署了《COVID-19緊急驅逐和禁止房屋拍賣法案(COVID-19 Emergency Eviction and Foreclosure Prevention Act)》。該法律對所有紐約租客和房東實行了60天的寬限驅逐和禁止房屋拍賣,直到2021年2月26日為止。由於COVID-19疫情而遭受經濟困難並提交困難聲明表的紐約人,現被禁止被驅逐或被迫拍賣房屋,直到2020年5月1日。

在法案簽署後,紐約州現在擁有全美國最強的禁止驅逐令。閱讀更多...

HTC提倡儘早為酒店服務人員接種疫苗

2020年12月26日 下午2點41分

在過去的10天裡,美國食品藥品監督管理局(FDA)批准了兩種可緊急預防COVID-19的疫苗,第一種來自輝瑞BioNTech,第二種來自Moderna。COVID-19疫苗將保護個人免遭這種致命病毒的侵害,並且無疑將有助於我們地區的酒店和博彩業的經濟復蘇。

HTC主席Rich Maroko一直敦促紐約州和新澤西州在每個州的疫苗分發計劃中優先考服務業的工作人員。閱讀更多...

工會診所在節日期間的工作時間安排

2020年12月23日 下午3點50分

請注意:布魯克林區、哈林區、曼哈頓中城、和皇后區的診所中心和藥房將因冬季假期而於12月24日、12月25日、12月31日、和1月1日關閉。藥房也將於1月2日(星期六)關閉。閱讀更多...

紐約州延長了從1月1日起生效的醫療保險的申請

2020年12月23日 下午3點09分

紐約州衛生局宣布延長從1月1日開始生效的醫療保險的申請截止日期。如需從2021年1月1日開始使用保險,紐約州居民現在可以在12月31日之前申請Medicaid、第一保健(Essential Plan)、Child Health Plus或其他合格的健康計劃(包括MetroPlus)。

點擊此處詳細了解每個計劃和申請方式。

國會通過新的刺激方案

202012月22日 下午727

在昨晚12月21日,國會通過了自春季以來的第一份刺激計劃。法案中包括11週的額外$300美元失業救濟金、第二輪發放給大部分美國人的現金福利、以及直至1月31日的聯邦延長暫停驅逐令。該立法正在等待特朗普總統的簽名,預計總統將在今天將其簽署為法律。該立法已在12月27日(上星期日)被特朗普總統簽署。閱讀更多...

通過發送電子郵件給福利基金會辦公室的方式獲取有關您的醫療保險即將終止的文件

2020年12月11日 下午3點37分

如果您的全行業福利基金的醫療保險將於12月31日到期,並且您正在加入新的醫療保險計劃,新醫療保險提供方可能會要求您提供一封證明您的醫療保險即將結束的文件。您現在可以通過發送電子郵件的方式來獲取此文件。閱讀更多...

其他醫療保險的選擇 (GRIWA和紐約上州賭場)

2020年12月3日 下午7點30分

我們總結了這份各項醫療保險的介紹和指南。如果您是在GRIWA和紐約上州賭場的工作人員,並在接下來的幾個月中失去將醫療保險,這份指南將幫到您。

我們建議您閱讀這份指南,了解在您的保險終結時,有哪些方案是最適合您和您的家人的。如果您有任何疑問或需要幫助,您可以致電(212)245-8100 接通後按選項1與我們聯繫。閱讀更多...

如何運用醫療補助(Medicare)?

2020年12月3日 下午6點00分

Medicare是一項聯邦健康保險計劃,適用於65歲或65歲以上的個人以及某些年輕的殘疾人。Medicare保險分為四個部分,每個部分涵蓋特定的服務:住院保險(Medicare A部分)、醫療保險(B部分)、Medicare Advantage計劃(C部分)、和處方藥保險(D部分)。閱讀更多...

最新消息:退休會員的退休金

2020年12月2日 下午3點34分

福利基金會最近寄出了一份關於收取退休金的驗證信。但是,由於COVID-19疫情的持續,今年不需要填寫該表格了,請忽略這封信。基金會將郵寄正式的撤回通知。如果您對這封信有任何疑問,請致電(212)586-6400 分機 4125。

如需查閱基金會發處的撤回函,請點擊此處(英文版本)

哈林區和布魯克林區的工會診所將於1月1日關閉

2020年12月2日 下午2點15分

員工福利基金會已宣布,當基金會的緊急資金於2021年1月1日用盡時,哈林區和布魯克林區的工會診所將臨時關閉。這一改變將影響那些仍在工作或將繼續使用在基金會的醫療保險的工人(包括那些購買COBRA或申請帶薪假期延續醫療保險的人)。

點擊這裡閱讀員工福利基金會首席執行官David Jacobson博士關於計劃暫停營運的信。

運用紐約的“查找服務”網站獲取有關大眾福利的信息

2020年11月25日 下午2點50分

紐約州已啟動一個“查找服務”的新網站,該網站幫助紐約人查找符合自己的州和聯邦的福利與服務。在該網站上通過回答有關您家庭的一些問題,該網站將向您顯示您可能有資格獲得的大眾福利和服務的列表。閱讀更多...

工會診所將於感恩節(11月26日)和星期五(11月27日)休息

2020年11月23日 下午1點23分

請注意,所有四間工會診所將於感恩節假期11月26日(星期四)和11月27日(星期五)休息。

那些計劃與MetroPlus代理商會面以討論其醫療保險選擇的工人,Metro Plus代理商在本星期四和星期五不會在工會診所和Gertrude Lane禮堂(位於曼哈頓305號西44街道)進行會面。 閱讀更多...

紐約市居民:向MetroPlus了解您醫療保險的選擇

更新:20201223日 下午 530

我們的工會已安排MetroPlus(由城市運營的非營利性醫療保險計劃)的代理商與在未來幾個月內將失去醫療保險的工會工人會面和討論他們的醫療保險方案。

在12月17日,紐約州將申請從1月1日開始生效的醫療保險計劃或合格的醫療計劃的截止日期延長至12月31日。我們強烈建議會員能藉此機會與MetroPlus代理商處了解您的選擇。閱讀更多...

遣散費: 不會從中扣除工會費

20201027日 下午14點55分

根據9月份獲得的仲裁裁決,大多數受IWA、Division A、和GRIWA合同覆蓋的酒店已開始向下崗的工人支付遣散費。HTC代表的賭場已開始向仍然失業的工人支付遣散費。工會做出了一個決定,並指示雇主不要從您的遣散費中扣除工會費。閱讀更多...

3,000名HTC代表的賭場工作人員重返工作崗位,其中許多人的工作甚至比以前更好

2020年10月8日 下午1點55分

在9月初,在賭場因COVID-19疫情關閉了將近六個月之後,紐約州州長Cuomo允許該州的賭場以25%的容量開放,伴隨著3,000名工會工人的復工。

儘管全國各地的非工會酒店和博彩業工作者在COVID-19疫情中面臨危險的工作條件,但HTC代表的賭場工作者處於非常罕見的位置,他們在工作中得到了加強的保護,在疫情期間他們的工資和福利得到了改善。

估算您的遣散費總額:

2020年10月6日 下午7點08分

大多數在IWA和Division A酒店工作的員工將有權獲得一次性發放的或以特別的形式每週發放的遣散費,這都歸功於這份具有里程碑意義的仲裁裁決。點擊這裡閱讀有關仲裁裁決的詳細信息。

當緊急醫療基金在一月份應盡時,工會診所會發生什麼變化?

2020年10月3日 下午1點45分

如先前的報導,除非該市的酒店業在年底之前復蘇並且召回大量員工,否則福利基金很可能不得不在即將到來的1月份臨時減少正在工作的人員和關閉地點,從而減少對會員的服務-至少直到行業復甦為止。 閱讀更多...

市長白思豪在紐約市議會通過有關保護酒店工人和客人的法律上簽名

2020年9月30日 下午3點10分

在上週三,紐約市議會以45票比4票通過了一項新法律。在星期一,市長白思豪(Bill de Blasio)簽署了這項新法律,該法律將為紐約市酒店員工提供至關重要的安全保障,並將大大加強對前來我們城市的消費者們的保護。

HTC主席Rich Maroko評論說:“4萬名HTC成員及其家人鼓掌並感謝市長、議長、和我們市議會中的所有朋友採取果斷的行動和關鍵措施,以防止在COVID-19疫情中獲利的小部分酒店老闆的不道德的行為。我們很幸運在這個城市和州當選的官員能在這個可怕的時期採取了勇敢和負責任的行動。” 閱讀更多...

Latest Updates on the Coronavirus Situation

CDC issues nationwide eviction moratorium through January 31, 2021

Updated: January 5, 2021 12:06 PM

The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) issued a broad nationwide eviction moratorium in order to prevent the potential spread of COVID-19 if a large number of distressed renters become homeless or move into more crowded housing as a result of being evicted. On December 21, 2020, Congress passed a second stimulus bill, which extends the CDC’s eviction moratorium through January 31, 2021.

Under the moratorium, eligible tenants cannot be evicted for nonpayment of rent until January 31, 2020. Please note, the order does not forgive rent. You are still obligated to pay rent, and can still be evicted after the order expires or for reasons other than nonpayment. Read more...

A New Year’s Message from HTC President Rich Maroko

January 1, 2021 9:50 AM

By HTC President Rich Maroko

Happy New Year. I hope that this message finds you and your loved ones healthy and doing well. As we end this incredibly difficult year and enter 2021, I wanted to give you all a sense of what I expect for our Union in the year ahead. Read more...

New York passes nation’s strongest ban on evictions and foreclosures

December 29, 2020 5:40 PM

On December 28th, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo signed the COVID-19 Emergency Eviction and Foreclosure Prevention Act. The law effectively enacts a 60-day eviction and foreclosure moratorium for all New York tenants and homeowners until February 26, 2021. New Yorkers who are experiencing financial hardship due to the COVID-19 pandemic and who submit a hardship declaration form are prevented from being evicted or having their home foreclosed on for even longer, until May 1, 2021.

With the bill’s signing, New York State now has the strongest eviction moratorium in the nation. Read more...

HTC advocates for hospitality workers to be vaccinated early

December 26, 2020 2:41 PM

The United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved two vaccines for emergency use to prevent COVID-19, the first from Pfizer-BioNTech and the second from Moderna. The COVID-19 vaccine will protect individuals from getting sick from this deadly virus and will undoubtedly aid in the economic recovery of our region’s hospitality and gaming industries.

HTC President Rich Maroko has been urging both New York and New Jersey to prioritize hospitality workers in each state’s vaccine distribution plans. Read more...

Holiday hours at the Health Centers

December 23, 2020 3:50 PM

Please be advised that the Brooklyn, Harlem, Midtown, and Queens health centers and pharmacies will be closed on December 24, December 25, December 31, and January 1 in observance of the winter holidays. The pharmacies will also be closed on Saturday, January 2. Read more...

New York extends deadline to apply for health insurance starting January 1

December 23, 2020 3:09 PM

The New York State of Health has announced an extension to the deadline to apply for healthcare coverage beginning on January 1st. New York residents now have until December 31st to apply for Medicaid, the Essential Plan, Child Health Plus, or any Qualified Health Plan (including those provided by MetroPlus) for coverage beginning January 1, 2021.

Read more about each of these plans and how to apply here.

Congress passes new stimulus package

December 22, 2020, 7:27 PM

On December 21st, Congress passed its first stimulus package since the Spring, which includes 11 weeks of $300 supplemental unemployment benefits, a second round of direct payments to most Americans, and an extension of the federal eviction moratorium until January 31st

President Trump signed the legislation late Sunday, December 27th. Read more...

Email the Benefit Funds for documentation that your healthcare coverage is ending

December 11, 2020 3:37 PM

If your healthcare coverage with the Industry-Wide Benefits Fund is coming to an end on December 31st and you are enrolling in a new healthcare plan, your new health insurance provider may ask you for a letter showing that your healthcare coverage is ending. You can now email the Benefit Funds for this documentation. Read more...

Find alternative healthcare (GRIWA and Upstate casinos)

December 3, 2020 7:30 PM

Updated December 23, 2020 4:30 PM

We have compiled this guide about the many alternative healthcare options that will be available to workers at GRIWA hotels and the upstate casinos should they lose coverage in the upcoming months.

We encourage you to review this guide to explore which plan will be best for you and your family should your coverage ultimately comes to an end. If you have any questions, or need assistance, you can contact us at (212) 245-8100 and select option #1. Read more...

How does Medicare work?

December 3, 2020 6:00 PM

Medicare is a federal health insurance program for individuals who are 65 or older and certain younger individuals with disabilities. There are four parts of Medicare insurance, each covering specific services: Hospital Insurance (Medicare Part A), Medical Insurance (Part B), Medicare Advantage Plan (Part C) and Prescription Drug Coverage (Part D). Read more...

Pension update for retired members

December 2, 2020 3:34 PM

The Benefit Funds recently sent out a Pension Payment Verification letter. However, due to the ongoing COVID-19 crisis, this form will not be required this year. Please disregard the letter. A formal retraction will be mailed by the Funds. Should you have any questions about the letter please call the Funds at: (212) 586-6400, ext. 4125.

To view the retraction letter being sent by the Funds, please click here.

Harlem and Brooklyn health centers to close Jan 1

December 2, 2020 2:15 PM

The Employee Benefit Funds has announced that the Harlem and Brooklyn health centers will temporarily close on January 1st, 2021, when the emergency funding of the Funds comes to an end. These changes will affect those workers who remain employed or who will have continued access to health coverage through the Funds (including those who choose to pay for COBRA or receive payment for their paid time off.)

Click here to read a letter from Employee Benefit Funds CEO Dr. David Jacobson about the planned temporary closures.

Use New York’s “Find Services” website for information on public benefits

November 25, 2020 2:50 PM

New York State has launched “Find Services”, a new website designed to assist New Yorkers with finding available state and federal benefits and services. By answering a few questions about your household, the website will show you a list of the public benefits and services for which you may be eligible. Read more...

Health centers closed on Thanksgiving, Nov 26 and Friday, Nov 27

November 23, 2020 1:23 PM

Please be advised that all four health centers will be closed this Thursday, November 26 and Friday, November 27 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

For those workers looking to meet with MetroPlus about their healthcare options, Metro Plus agents will not be at the health centers or at Gertrude Lane Auditorium (at 305 West 44th Street) on Thursday or Friday this week. Read more...

NYC Residents: Meet with MetroPlus about your healthcare options

Updated December 23, 2020 5:30 PM

Our Union has arranged for agents from MetroPlus (a city-operated, not-for-profit healthcare plan) to meet with union workers who are losing their healthcare in the coming months to discuss their healthcare options.

On December 17th, New York State extended the deadline to apply for a state healthcare program or qualified healthcare plan until December 31st for coverage beginning on January 1st. We strongly encourage members to take the opportunity to meet with a MetroPlus agent to get a complete overview of your options. Read more...

Severance Pay: Union dues should not be deducted

October 27, 2020 4:23 PM

Most hotels covered by the IWA, Division A and GRIWA contracts have started to pay severance to laid off workers in accordance with the arbitration award won in September. The Union made the decision and has instructed employers NOT to deduct dues from your severance pay. Read more...

3,000 HTC-represented casino workers return to work, many to even better jobs than before

October 8, 2020 1:55 PM

In early September, after nearly six months of being shuttered due to COVID-19, New York Governor Cuomo permitted the state’s casinos to reopen at 25% capacity and 3,000 unionized casino workers returned to work.

While non-union hotel and gaming workers across the country face hazardous working conditions amidst COVID-19, HTC-represented casino workers are in the very rare position where their protections on the job have gotten stronger and their wages and benefits have improved during the pandemic. Read more...

Estimate your “severance bank”

October 6, 2020 7:08 PM

Due to a landmark arbitration decision, most employees who work in IWA and Division A shops will now be entitled to either a lump sum severance payment or pay each week as a structured payout of severance. Click here to estimate your severance bank.

What happens when the emergency funding of the Benefit Funds ends in January?

October 3, 2020 1:45 PM

As previously reported, unless the city’s hotel industry recovers by the end of the year and a large number of members are recalled, it is very likely that the Benefit Funds will have to temporarily reduce staffing and close locations in January, reducing services for those workers who remain working – at least until the industry recovers. Read more...

NYC City Council passes and Mayor de Blasio signs law protecting hotel workers and guests

September 30, 2020 3:10 PM

Last Wednesday, by a vote of 45 to 4, the NYC City Council passed, and on Monday, Mayor Bill de Blasio signed, a new law which will provide vital security for New York City hotel workers, and which will also greatly enhance consumer protections for people traveling to our city.

HTC President Rich Maroko commented, “40,000 HTC members and their families applaud and thank the mayor, the speaker, and all our friends in the City Council for acting decisively to enact critical measures to prevent a small, unscrupulous segment of the hotel owners in this city from exploiting the COVID-19 disaster to profiteer. We are fortunate to have elected officials in this city and state who have acted courageously and responsibly in these terrible times.” Read more...