利用我們的政治力量使新澤西州關於安全的法律得以通過

2020626日 下午442

在與新澤西州的議會和州長辦公室的盟友們一起商討數週後,我們工會自豪地宣布,一項新法律已在新澤西州簽署,該法律將在COVID19及以後的日子裡保護酒店工作人員的工作和安全。該法律將要求酒店房間進行每天清潔、使用EPA認證的清潔劑以及前台的最低限度人員分配。該法律在美國各地的同類法律中是第一條。這條法律在2020年6月25日生效了。

一些酒店把利潤放在大眾健康之前

在沒有基本安全標準的情況下,冠狀病毒對酒店工作人員和客人的健康構成嚴重威脅。但是,一些酒店正在尋求利用當前的危機來偷工減料、減少工作並增加利潤,而這是以犧牲工人和客人的安全為代價的。儘管像世界衛生組織這樣的領先健康專家的建議下,許多酒店還試圖在全酒店範圍裡減少清潔服務人員和潔淨房間的頻率,並解僱前台服務人員(這類工作人員都是在酒店裡需要對疫情作出第一反應的工作人員)。 

我們的工會一直關注於反擊這些趨勢,並為我們的會員談判保護和安全的相關協議。

新澤西州的法律為酒店工人的安全設下了標準

在新澤西州,HTC率先採取了應對所有新澤西州酒店行業的各種威脅法律。 該法案(在州參議院的法案編號為S2479,在州議會的法案編號為A4131)提供了四個關鍵的保護領域:

  • 每日房間打掃。 該法案包括一項酒店必須在客人入住前後每天清潔客房的要求。這項要求對酒店員工至關重要,主要有兩個原因:1)世界衛生組織(WHO)和其他幾個衛生組織建議酒店每天進行房間清潔,以確保員工和客人的安全; 2)隨著酒店開始重新開放,我們需要確保我們的工作和人工成本免受削減和的侵害。
  • 至少安排前台人員的數量。 前台工作人員在指導在酒店的顧客在健康或可能感染了冠狀病毒或其他病原體的客人的反應中起著至關重要的作用。 該法案要求酒店必須至少由1名前台員工值班,以及每200間客房至少增加一名員工來維持其前台24/7全天候服務。 這一關鍵措施還確保了酒店無法利用冠狀病毒疫情來取消前台位置,從而預防酒店把利潤放在第一位。
  • 培訓。 培訓是抵禦感染的前線防御方法,酒店員工需要接受關於如何正確清潔房間、公共區域和賓客接觸點的培訓,以及如何應對客人提出的有關健康問題的問題或疑慮。 該法案將要求向所有新澤西州酒店的工人提供這類培訓。
  • 清潔劑。 該法案要求酒店向員工提供經EPA認證並可有效抵抗冠狀病毒的清潔劑。

酒店工作人員在新澤西州議會有一席之位

在2010年,我們的工會將其管轄範圍擴大到紐約市以外,並成為新澤西州和大紐約地區的酒店工人工會。在過去的十年中,工會執行了一項戰略,以大大改善該地區的合同標準。第一步是創建一個涵蓋整個地區的主合同,今天稱為大地區工業範圍協議(或稱“ GRIWA”)。第二,是在州內通過積極組織來提高我們的工會密度,進而提高我們的談判能力。第三,是通過動員我們的會員投票表決並爭取保護我們的工作和生活水平的法律來建立我們在該州的政治權力。正是這些努力的結果,使得這項立法成為法律,以保護全州的酒店工人(工會和非工會)。

行政副主席Rich Maroko說:“該法案證明了HTC在過去幾年中為這場疫情所做的政治工作,它突顯了我們工會即使在最困難的時期也能夠開展有效的立法運動的能力。” 他還說道:“通過將這些基本要求籤署為法律,我們現在可以專注於酒店員工的其他關鍵需求,例如持續的醫療保健。”

HTC與這些新澤西州政府官員密切合作,共同製定了該法案:

  • 參議院主席史蒂夫·斯威尼(Steeve Sweeney):作為鐵工工會的領導人,參議員斯威尼理解HTC面臨的挑戰,他的辦公室與我們的工會緊密合作,起草了立法並確保其通過。
  • 會議長克雷格·科夫林(Craig Coughlin):即使酒店業竭力擊敗該法案,議長科夫林仍然支持這項立法。 他的盟友議員羅伯特·卡拉賓恰克(Robert Karabinchak)簽署了該法案,並在整個立法過程中全力以赴,以確保該法案獲得通過。
  • 州長Phil Murphy:州長Murphy指示其工作人員與HTC的立法團隊合作,在直接與總統彼得·沃德(Peter Ward)協商後,他於6月11日星期四將該法案簽署為法律。

HTC將與新澤西州政府合作,以確保該法案得到適當執行。

我們的工會與工會酒店贏得安全協議

在這場疫情期間,工會還參加了為我們的會員談判安全議定書的談判。

在3月初,工會領導人獲得了《冠狀病毒協議協議》。該協議由紐約和新澤西州的169家酒店簽署。這項協議與新澤西州的立法的保護措施有相同之處。 這些保護措施旨在保護工人和客人,包括每日房間清潔、定期清潔公共場所、使用EPA註冊的消毒劑,和員工培訓。

在6月19日,工會與紐約和新澤西州的工會組織擴大了具有開創性的《冠狀病毒安全協議協議》。HTC的新安全協議除了保留原始協議中的保護措施外,還要求酒店確保客人戴著口罩並加強與社會的距離。該協議還要求酒店每天測試員工的體溫,並為測試和提供額外的帶薪休假付費(如果員工的測試結果呈陽性,則最多可以有20天的帶薪休假)。這些酒店不僅必須遵守增強的安全協議,而且工會會員也可以毫無畏懼地利用協議內的規條。

行政行副主席兼法律總顧問Maroko解釋說:“該協議經過擴展,符合工會的三個目標:第一,保護工人在工作中不受感染;第二,通過強有力的測試協議遏制任何疫情;第三,幫助 通過提供足夠的帶薪休假來簽約COVID-19的工人。這樣他們在康復時就不必擔心收入。” 如果您想了解有關該協議的更多信息,請單擊此處

HTC主席Ward補充說:“我為我們談判達成的協議以及它為酒店工作人員和客人提供的前所未有的保護感到非常自豪。不像在新澤西州那樣的保護條例能成功立法,紐約州的條例僅限於工會酒店。這意味著紐約非工會酒店的工人和客人無法保證酒店能採取任何安全措施來保護他們。 ”

Using our Political Power to Pass Safety Legislation in New Jersey

June 26, 2020 4:42 PM

After weeks of working with our allies in the NJ State Legislature and the Governor’s Office, our Union is proud to announce that a new law has been signed in New Jersey that will protect hotel workers’ safety and jobs in the era of COVID-19 and beyond. The law will require daily room cleans, EPA-certified cleaning agents, and minimum staffing at the front desk. This law is the very first of its kind anywhere in the country. It went into effect on Thursday, June 25, 2020.

Some Hotels Put Profits Ahead of Public Health

Without basic safety standards in place, the coronavirus presents some very serious health threats to both hotel workers and guests. Yet some hotels are looking to exploit the current crisis in order to cut corners, eliminate jobs, and grow their profits at the expense of the safety of workers and guests. Against the advice of leading health experts like the World Health Organization, a number of hotels are attempting to cut housekeeping staff and clean rooms less often and to eliminate front-desk staff (the employees who are often the first responders within the hotel to a health crisis) among other things.

Our Union has been laser-focused on fighting back against these trends and negotiating protections and safety agreements for our members.

Law to Require Safety Standards for Hotel Workers Across New Jersey

In New Jersey, HTC responded head-on to this threat from the hotel industry by spearheading legislation that would cover all hotels in the state. The bill (known by its bill numbers S2479 in the State Senate and A4131 in the State Assembly) provides for four key areas of protection:

  • Daily room cleaning: The bill includes a requirement that hotels have guest rooms cleaned every day and between guest stays. This requirement is critical for hotel workers for two big reasons: 1) the World Health Organization (WHO) and several other health organizations have recommended daily room cleaning for the safety of workers and guests, and 2) as hotels begin to reopen, we need to make sure our jobs are protected from employers who are trying to cut back on labor costs. 

  • Minimum front-desk staffing: Front-desk staff play a critical role in guiding the hotel’s response to guests who have health concerns or who may be infected with the coronavirus or other pathogens. The bill requires hotels to maintain 24/7 coverage of its front desk by at least 1 employee, and at least 1 additional employee for every 200 guest rooms. This critical measure also ensures that hotels are not able to take advantage of the coronavirus crisis to eliminate front-desk positions, putting profits above health. 

  • Training: As the front-line defense against infection, hotel workers need to be trained in how to properly clean rooms, public areas and guest-touch points, and how to respond to questions or concerns guests have about health issues when they arise. The bill would require these types of trainings to be provided to workers at all NJ hotels. 

  • Cleaning-agents: The bill requires hotels to provide employees with cleaning agents that have been EPA-certified as effective against the coronavirus.

Hotel Workers Have a Seat at the Table in the New Jersey Statehouse

In 2010, our Union expanded its jurisdiction beyond New York City and became the union for hotel workers in New Jersey and the greater New York region. Over the last decade, the Union has executed a strategy to dramatically improve contract standards in the region. The first step was to create a master contract covering the entire region, known today as the Greater Regional Industry Wide Agreement (or “the GRIWA”). Second, was to increase our union density – and in turn our bargaining power - by actively organizing in the state. And third, was to build our political power in the state by mobilizing our membership to get out the vote and fight for laws that will protect our jobs and standard of living. It is a result of those efforts, that we were able to get this legislation signed into law to protect hotel workers – union and non-union - across the state.

“This bill is a testament to the political work that HTC has done for the past several years leading up to this crisis, and it highlights our union’s ability to run an effective legislative campaign even in the most difficult of times,” said Executive Vice President and General Counsel Rich Maroko. “With these basic requirements signed into law, we can now focus on hotel workers’ other critical needs, like continued healthcare.”

HTC worked closely on this bill with these NJ government officials:

  • Senate President Steve Sweeney: As an Ironworkers’ union leader himself, Senator Sweeney understood the kind of threat that HTC was up against, and his office worked closely with our union in drafting the legislation and in ensuring its passage. 

  • Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin: Speaker Coughlin stood up in favor of this legislation even when the hotel industry fought hard to defeat it. His ally, Assemblyman Robert Karabinchak signed up as the prime sponsor of the legislation and worked throughout the legislative process to ensure it passed.
  • Governor Phil Murphy: Governor Murphy directed his staff to work with HTC’s legislative team, and after consulting directly with President Peter Ward, he signed the legislation into law on Thursday, June 11th.

HTC will be working with the New Jersey state government to ensure that this bill is properly enforced.

Our Union Wins Safety Agreement with the Unionized Industry

The Union has also gone to the negotiating table over the course of this crisis to negotiate safety protocols for our membership.

In early March, the Union leadership secured the Coronavirus Protocol Agreement. The agreement was signed by 169 hotels across New York and New Jersey. It included a lot of the protections that found their way into the New Jersey legislation. These protections, designed to protect both workers and guests, include daily room cleaning, regular cleaning of public spaces, use of EPA registered disinfectants and employee training.

On June 19th, the Union extended the ground-breaking Coronavirus Safety Protocol Agreement with the unionized industry in New York and New Jersey. In addition to the protections in the original agreement, HTC’s new safety agreement requires that hotels ensure guests wear masks and enforce social distancing. The agreement also requires the hotels to test employees’ temperatures daily, pay for testing and provide additional paid time off (including up to 20 additional paid days off if an employee tests positive.) Not only must these hotels follow enhanced safety protocols, but union members are able to enforce the agreement without fear. If you want to read more about the agreement, click here.

Executive Vice President and General Counsel Rich Maroko explained “The agreement, as extended, meets the Union’s three goals: first, to protect workers from infection while on the job, second, to contain any outbreaks through a robust testing protocol, and third, to help workers who contract COVID-19 by providing enough paid time off so that they don’t have to worry about their income while they recover.” 

HTC President Peter Ward added, “I am extremely proud of the agreement we negotiated and the unprecedented protections it gives hotel workers and guests. But without legislation, like what we now have in New Jersey, they are limited to unionized hotels - which means that workers and guests at non-union hotels in New York have no assurance that any of these safety measures will be there to protect them.”