福利基金受託人為成千上萬的工人延長了預付律師的服務

2020827日 下午8點07分


在2020年8月25日,HTC主席Rich Maroko召開了福利基金受託人開了一場特別的會議。Maroko主席提議對基金進行臨時更改,延長了IWA和Division A合同的數千名因冠狀病毒疫情而被解僱的工人提供預付律師的服務。

符合資格的工人可以通過預費律師服務獲得法律援助,包括房東/房客糾紛、離婚、子女撫養費索賠、房地產買賣、破產、信貸、消費者保護問題、遺囑和房地產規劃、移民問題等等。

通常,工人在失業90天后將無法使用預付律師的服務。受託人批准了一項臨時變更,該變更使由於當前疫情而被解僱的工人可以繼續使用預付律師的服務。儘管大多數人被長時間解雇,只要預付法律基金可以支付額外的費用,就可以享受此項福利。

“自3月以來,成千上萬的會員失業,而聯邦失業金額外的$600美元已經結束,我們所代表的許多工人正處在艱難時期。我們希望確保他們在最需要的時刻能夠獲得低成本/免費的法律服務。” “我感謝基金會的受託人批准了這一臨時變更並在未來艱難的幾個月中延長了服務範圍。”

如果您需要幫助,可以在週一至週五上午9點至下午5點致電預付律師服務(212)586-6400 分機4258。

Benefit Funds trustees expand access to pre-paid legal for thousands of workers

August 27, 2020 8:07 PM

On August 25, 2020, HTC President Rich Maroko convened a special meeting of the trustees of the Benefit Funds. President Maroko proposed a temporary change to the Funds that will expand access to pre-paid legal for thousands of workers covered by the IWA and Division A contracts who have been laid off due to the Coronavirus crisis.

Eligible workers can get legal assistance through pre-paid legal for matters including landlord/tenant disputes, divorce, child support claims, real estate sales and purchases, bankruptcy, credit and consumer protection issues, wills and estate planning, immigration issues, and more.

Normally, workers lose access to pre-paid legal 90 days after becoming unemployed. The trustees approved a temporary change that gives workers who were laid off due to the current crisis continued access to pre-paid legal, despite most being laid off for an extended period of time. This benefit will be in place for as long as the pre-paid legal fund can support the additional expense.

“With tens of thousands of our members out of work since March and the end of the $600 federal unemployment boost, many of the workers we represent are falling on hard times. We want to make sure that they have access to low cost/free legal services when they need it most” explained President Maroko. “I’m thankful to the trustees of the Funds for approving this temporary change and expanding access in the tough months ahead.”

If you need assistance, you can call Pre-Paid Legal at (212) 586-6400, ext. 4258, Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM.