工會在仲裁中贏得了里程碑般的勝利。IWA和DIvision A酒店的員工獲得了三個月的醫療保險和特定形式發放的遣散費

在2020年9月1日的仲裁聽證會上,HTC主席Rich Maroko與外援顧問Joseph Farelli

2020911日 星期五 下午7點31

HTC主席Maroko宣布,在具有里程碑意義的仲裁裁決中,工會在今天早上贏得了兩項重大的勝利。該裁決適用於IWA和Division A酒店中約28,000名被HTC代表的員工。

仲裁官的裁決包括兩個部分:

裁決中的第一部份 – 將醫療保險延長三個月

仲裁官的裁決要求IWA和Division A的雇主為因疫情而仍在停工的員工支付額外三個月的醫療保險。這些員工們的醫療保險能保障到2020年的年底。

裁決中的第二部份 - 獲取遣散費中 “過渡式”薪水

目前IWA和Division A酒店(如果酒店決定永久關閉的話,員工有權獲得遣散費)的大多數員工很快將有權每週獲得額外的薪水,視作為額外的失業補償,這是以特定形式發放的遣散費。員工每週將收到這筆薪水,稱為“過渡式”薪水。這筆薪水將彌補失業救濟金與您每周正常的工資之間的差額,直到(1)員工重返工作崗位或(2)員工所收到的“過渡式”薪水總額等於如果酒店永久關閉時將獲得的遣散費金額總額之後停止。獲取這筆遣散費將不會影響員工的召回權。

談判和仲裁案

正如Maroko主席解釋的那樣:“我們被解僱的會員面臨著兩個最緊迫的問題是:醫療保險和是否能夠在聯邦失業補貼已減少或未知何時會結束的情況下維持正常生活水平。在今天,我們能夠解決這兩個問題。”

工會在數週前與酒店業界就這些問題進行的談判。Maroko主席匯報說,儘管這些談判卓有成效,但該行業在醫療保險續期和給員工增加額外收入的問題上給不了工會一個滿意的解決方案。因此,工會將案件交給仲裁官解決。

這次的仲裁程序-這是自疫情開始以來的第一次進行特別的非遠程的面對面聽證會-於2020年9月1日在工會的Gertrude Lane禮堂舉行。受過常春藤聯盟教育的常任律師Maroko主席(此前曾擔任近20年的工會總法律顧問)帶領了此案件。長期合作的外援法律顧問Joseph Farelli,以及工會總法律顧問Amy Bokerman和Alyssa Tramposch一起參與了此案。

在仲裁案的過程中,HTC成功做出了一項合同論據,將在IWA和Division A酒店工作的超過28,000名HTC代表的員工的醫療保險服務延至年底。

雙方的論點

關於醫療保險,工會依靠以往談判而來的合同條款來保護醫療基金的開銷費用,並依據一些晦澀的仲裁裁決支撐了酒店需要支付部分費用來鞏固醫療基金的論點。仲裁官最終同意並授予10月、11月和12月,這額外三個月的醫療保險服務。這可不是一件容易的事。醫療保險的成本是每月將近於5千萬美元的。

通常,IWA和Division A合同均不要求雇主為沒有工作的員工支付醫療費用。但是HTC強大的能力和我們強大的合同條例能力為工會提供了談判的籌碼,在這場在疫情期間通過談判和仲裁程序贏得了總共八個月、價值總額近3.5億美元的醫療保險。

工會在關於給員工補貼性收入的論點集中在合同的遣散條款上。這些條例規定了在停業或永久性裁員的情況下需要發放遣散費。酒店業界爭辯道,此遣散條款不適用於疫情對行業造成的裁員。

他們特別指出,遣散費僅應歸因於“永久性”關閉和“永久性”裁員的情況,而這種裁員通常不適用於因人手不足而導致裁員的情況-就像現在那樣,遊客因對COVID-19的恐懼而不外出的原因導致的裁員。

他們還爭辯說,即使需要發放遣散費,也要等到失業失業金結束時才能發放。由於聯邦和州政府都延長了失業救濟金的領取期限,在大多數情況下,這種情況要直到明年春天才可能發生。

工會反駁說,工會是專門為緩解長期裁員的影響而進行遣散費的談判,員工迫切需要的是額外的收入,而且鑑於聯邦額外的失業金已經領完了,加上國會是否會採取延長福利的行動增加了不確定的因素。

最終,仲裁官同意:即使酒店沒有“永久”關閉的情況下,也應支付一定的遣散費,並且不能等到明年春天才支付。因此,仲裁官下令酒店必須以每週“過渡式”薪水的形式,從不遲於10月1日開始,以特別的方式發放遣散費。這筆款項將在以下情況下終止:(1)員工重返工作崗位,或(2)該員工所收取的“過渡式”薪水的總額達到了如果酒店永久關閉而有權獲得的遣散費全額相同。

HTC還為停工的員工贏得了遣散費,以彌補他們在疫情期間損失的收入。

沒有得到共和黨參議院和白宮的任何幫助

在這幾個月以來可以看出,由共和黨控制的美國參議院根本無意通過真正的救濟法案,也幫助不了因疫情而失業的數百萬的員工,聯邦對的此反應也不力。即使民主控制的眾議院迅速採取行動,於5月通過了將延長失業救濟金的期限至2021年1月31日的《Heroes法案》。

“過渡式”薪水形式的遣散費

在IWA或Division A CBA管轄範圍內的員工,通常在酒店關閉時有權獲得遣散費。現在,員工們將能夠每個星期獲取這特別形式發放的遣散費,分多次收取的支票累積起來的總額,稱為“過渡式”薪水,這筆賠償也可以作為失業救濟金的補貼。員工每週獲取的“過渡式”薪水將從員工的遣散費的總額中扣除。這意味著員工在酒店服務的年數越長,其遣散費總額就越大。一旦員工收到的“過渡式”薪水的總額達到了其應得的遣散費的總額,“過渡式”薪水將終止。

如何計算您的遣散費總額

對於大多數的員工,遣散費的計算方法是將其時薪乘以每天工作的小時數,再乘以4天,然後再乘以服務的年數(假設該員工在IWA的酒店至少工作了六個月,或在Division A CBA酒店工作了一年後才被解僱)。對於以小費為主的員工,遣散費是按其合同規定時薪的兩倍計算的。對於服務超過5年的Division A CBA部的員工,應按照每年5天來計算。

因此,例如,在IWA的酒店工作了10年的客房服務員目前是下崗的狀態,她可以將平時一天所賺的工資乘以4,然後將該金額乘以她一直以來服務的年數來計算其遣散費,如下所示:

$34.87 (時薪) x 7 (一天工作7小時) x 4 (每一年服務中的4天) x 10 (總共在該酒店服務了10年) = $9763.60 遣散費的總額

重要說明:如果有員工在當前工作的酒店那裡曾獲得過遣散費,他們的遣散費的計算應從得到第一筆遣散費的日期開始算,而不是從一開始在酒店工作的日期來計算。

例如,一位在Plaza酒店擔任了35年Oak Room服務員,在2010年,即其工作了25年之時獲得了遣散費。在今日,當他計算自己的遣散費之時,他的服務年數應為10年(總共35年減去25年(此25年已經獲得過一筆遣散費))。

另請注意:您的服務年數應四捨五入到最近的季度。

如何計算您的“過渡式”薪水

從2020年10月1日到2021年1月1日,下崗的員工的“過渡式”薪水將是其正在領取的失業救濟金(包括其他联邦補助金)與其在帶薪休假時所賺取的工資之間的差額(即,帶薪假期中一天能賺取的薪水)。

因此,例如:一名客房服務員通常每周可賺取$1220美元,如今領取$804美元的失業救濟金($504美元的常規失業救濟金和另外$300美元的聯邦補助金),如果這位客房服務員目前停工了,她每週將額外獲得在遣散費總額里不超過$416美元的“過渡式”薪水。

從2021年1月1日起,“過渡式”薪水的上限每週增加至$443美元,這大約等於員工每月購買家庭醫療保險COBRA時所需的金額。

每週獲得的“過渡式”薪水從該員工的遣散費總額中扣除。一旦總遣散費的總額用盡,“過渡式”薪水將終止收取。如果酒店重新營業,在日後再次關閉,則員工將會獲取在其遣散費總額里的“過渡式”薪水。

在2021年6月1日(即延長的失業救濟金可能終止的日期),仍在停工的員工可以選擇(1)繼續領取每週的“過渡式”薪水,或(2)一次性領取遣散費剩餘的餘額。

領取“過渡式”薪水不會影響失業金的領取

根據紐約州勞工部的說法,這種形式的遣散費不會影響其繼續獲得失業金或福利金的資格,只要第一筆遣散費是在員工最後一天工作之後30日以上領取即可。這是因為它是遣散費以特別形式的支出,而不是正常工資。只要您準備好了,願意並且隨時能夠工作,這筆遣散費就不會影響您的失業金領取。但是,如果您出於某種原因而不希望獲得這筆“過渡式”薪水,或者不願意獲取在一月份生效並增加的“過渡式”薪水的金額,您可以拒絕接受。

該裁決不適用於在疫情期間已經向員工支付了遣散費或決定一次性支付遣散費的酒店。它也不適用於與IWA或Division A CBA以外的合同的物業、GRIWA酒店、俱樂部和賭場都不適用於該裁決。

即使收取了“過渡式”遣散費的總額也不會影響您被召回工作崗位的權利

請記住,即使您已經獲取了您有權獲得的遣散費和“過渡式”薪水的全部金額,您仍然有權在酒店生意恢復時被召回:這僅意味著您將不再收到任何“過渡式”薪水。

如果您對此裁決對於您或您的酒店是否適用有任何疑問,或者對計算的方式有疑問,請致電(212)-245-8100接通後按選項1給您的業務代表留言。

Union Wins Three More Months of Healthcare and Structured Severance Pay for Workers from IWA and Division A Shops in Landmark Arbitration

HTC President Rich Maroko with outside counsel Joseph Farelli during the arbitration hearing on September 1, 2020.

Friday, September 11, 2020 7:31 PM

HTC President Maroko announced that the Union has won two major victories in a landmark arbitration decision that was issued this morning. This decision applies to approximately 28,000 HTC-represented workers at IWA and Division A shops.

The arbitrator’s decision consists of two parts:

Part 1 of Decision – Three-Month Extension of Healthcare

The arbitrator’s decision requires IWA and Division A employers to pay for an additional three-month extension of healthcare coverage for employees who are still on layoff as a result of the pandemic. Those workers are now guaranteed healthcare through the end of 2020.

Part 2 of Decision - Supplemental “Bridge Payments” in Severance Pay

Most employees from those same IWA and Division A shops (who would be entitled to severance pay in the event the shop permanently closed) will soon be entitled to extra pay each week to supplement their unemployment benefits as a structured payout of severance. Workers will receive these weekly checks, or “bridge payments”, that will make up the difference between unemployment benefits and their regular weekly wages until either (1) they are recalled or (2) they are paid an amount in bridge payments that equals the amount of severance pay they would otherwise receive had their hotel permanently closed. These payments will have no effect on employees’ recall rights.

Negotiations and Arbitration

As President Maroko explained, “The two most pressing concerns our laid off members have are access to healthcare and having enough income to get by if and when federal unemployment subsidies are reduced or end altogether. Today, we were able to address both.”

The Union resumed negotiations over these issues with the Industry several weeks ago. President Maroko reported that while those negotiations were productive, the Industry wasn’t able to resolve the issues of continued healthcare and extra income to the Union’s satisfaction. So, the Union took the case to arbitration.

The arbitration – notably, the first non-remote, in-person hearing since the pandemic began - was held in the Union’s Gertrude Lane auditorium on September 1, 2020. President Maroko, who is also an ivy league educated lawyer and previously served as the Union’s General Counsel for nearly 20 years, presented the case, alongside long-time outside Union counsel, Joseph Farelli, and Union Generals Counsel Amy Bokerman and Alyssa Tramposch.

During the arbitration, HTC successfully made a contractual argument to extend healthcare through the end of the year for over 28,000 HTC-represented workers who work in IWA and Division A shops.

The Arguments of Both Sides

With regard to healthcare, the Union relied on contractual provisions that the Union had negotiated over time to protect the solvency of the health fund and some obscure arbitration awards interpreting them to argue that hotels were required to pay assessments to bolster the health fund. The arbitrator ultimately agreed and awarded three additional months of healthcare for the months of October, November, and December. This is no small feat; the monthly cost of providing benefits is just under $50 million.

Normally, neither the IWA nor Division A contracts require employers to pay for healthcare for employees who are not working. But HTC’s power and the strength of our contract language gave the Union the tools it needed to secure a total of eight extra months of healthcare coverage during this pandemic through negotiation and arbitration, totaling nearly $350 million.

The Union’s argument with respect to supplemental income centered on the severance provisions of the contracts. These provisions provide for severance pay in the event of closures or permanent layoffs. The Industry argued that the severance provisions didn’t apply in the context of layoffs caused by the effect of the pandemic on the Industry.

Specifically, they argued that severance is only due for “permanent” closures and “permanent” layoffs, and that it does not normally apply in cases of layoffs resulting from a lack of occupancy – as is the case now, with travelers staying home for fear of contracting COVID-19.

They also argued that even if severance were required, it should not be paid until unemployment runs out, which, for most, isn’t likely to occur until the spring of next year, thanks to federal and state extensions of unemployment benefits.

The Union countered that it had negotiated severance specifically to cushion the impact of long-term layoffs, and that workers were in desperate need of extra income now, all the more so given that federal supplements to unemployment are ending coupled with the uncertainty of any congressional action to extend it.

Ultimately, the arbitrator agreed that some severance should be paid even if hotels were not “permanently” closed and that the payout could not wait until next spring. So the arbitrator ordered that hotels must make a structured payout of severance beginning no later than October 1st in the form of weekly “bridge payments.” These bridge payments will end when an employee is either (1) recalled to work, or (2) the total amount of bridge payments made to an employee matches the full amount they would otherwise be entitled to as severance pay if the hotel had permanently closed.

HTC also won severance payments for laid-off employees to make up for income they lost during the pandemic.

No Help from the Republican Senate and White House

It has been obvious for months that the Republican-controlled U.S. Senate had no intention of passing a real relief bill to assist the millions of workers who are out-of-work due to the pandemic and the inept federal response to it, even though the Democratic-controlled House of Representatives acted promptly by passing the HEROES Act in May which would have extended enhanced unemployment benefits until January 31, 2021.

Severance Bridge Payments

Workers covered under the IWA or Division A CBA who would otherwise be entitled to severance pay if their hotel closed will be able to use this “bank” of severance pay to collect weekly checks, called “bridge payments”, to supplement their unemployment benefits. This weekly “bridge payment” will be deducted from an employee’s total “severance bank.” This means that the more years of service an employee has with a hotel, the larger their “severance bank”. Once an employee receives his or her full allotment of bridge payments totaling their “severance bank”, the bridge payments end.

How to Calculate Your Total “Severance Bank”

For most employees, severance is calculated by multiplying their regular hourly rate by the number of hours worked per day, multiplied by 4 days, and then multiplied by years of service (assuming the employee has been employed for at least six months before being laid off under the IWA or at least 1 year under the Division A CBA). For tipped employees, severance is calculated at the contractual benefit day rate of two times their regular hourly rate. For employees under the Division A CBA with more than 5 years of service, the multiplier is 5 days per year of service instead of 4 days per year of service.

So, for example, a laid off Room Attendant who worked at an IWA hotel for 10 years would calculate their severance bank by multiplying their daily rate by 4 and then multiplying that amount by their years of service as follows:

$34.87 (hourly rate) x 7 (hours per day) x 4 (days per year of service) x 10 (years of service) = $9763.60 total severance bank

Important note: If an employee has been paid severance in the past from the hotel where they currently work, they will not receive severance for each year of service at the hotel, only from the date they received the original severance.

For example, if a Server at the Oak Room at the Plaza Hotel has worked at the Plaza for 35 years, and received severance for 25 years of service in 2010, today, they are only entitled to 10 years of severance pay (35 years total - 25 years paid).

Another note: Your years of service should be rounded to the nearest quarter year.

How to Calculate Your “Bridge Payments”

From October 1, 2020 until January 1, 2021, bridge payments to laid-off workers will be the difference between unemployment benefits received, including any federal supplement, and the amount an employee would normally earn during his or her paid time off (i.e., at their benefit day rate).

So, for example, a Room Attendant who normally earns $1220 per week and receives $804 per week in unemployment benefits ($504 in regular unemployment benefits and another $300 in federal supplements) would receive weekly bridge payments of up to $416 while on layoff, provided they had enough in their severance bank.

On January 1, 2021 the cap on bridge payments increases by another $443 per week, which will roughly equal the monthly amount needed for an employee to buy continued family healthcare coverage under COBRA.

As each weekly bridge payment is paid out, it will reduce an employee’s severance bank by that amount. Once the total severance bank is depleted, bridge payments will end. If a hotel reopens, then closes again in the future, the amount paid out to an employee as severance in bridge payments will be deducted from that employee’s total severance bank.

On June 1, 2021, which is the date extended unemployment benefits are likely to end, workers who are still on lay off can choose to either (1) continue receiving the weekly bridge payments, or (2) be paid out a lump sum payment of whatever is left in their severance bank.

Bridge Payments Do Not Affect Your Unemployment Benefits

According to the NY State Department of Labor, such structured severance will not affect continued eligibility for unemployment insurance benefits or benefit amounts, so long as the first severance payment is made more than 30 days after an employee’s last day of work. This is because it is a structured payout of severance, and not wages. So long as you remain ready, willing, and able to be recalled to work, these severance payments simply won’t affect unemployment benefits. However, if you would prefer for any reason either not to be paid bridge payments, or not to receive the increase to bridge payments that is effective in January, you may decline.

This Award does not apply to shops that have already paid out severance to employees during the pandemic or that decide to pay out severance in one lump sum payment. Nor does it apply to shops with contracts other than the IWA or Division A CBA, including, but not limited to, GRIWA shops, clubs, and casinos.

Bridge Lump Sum Severance Payments Do Not Affect Your Right to Be Recalled

Keep in mind, even if you are paid out the entire amount you would be entitled to as severance and bridge payments end, you are still entitled to be recalled when business comes back: it only means that you will no longer receive any more bridge payments.

If you have any questions about the applicability of the Award to you specifically or to your hotel generally, or if you have questions about the calculations, please call (212)-245-8100 and select Option #1 to leave a message for your business agent.