市長白思豪在紐約市議會通過有關保護酒店工人和客人的法律上簽名

在2020年9月28日星期一,紐約市市長白思豪(Bill de Blasio)舉行了在綫簽署Intro 2049A法案的儀式,HTC主席Rich Maroko也在旁。

2020930日 下午3點10

在上週三,紐約市議會以45票比4票通過了一項新法律。在星期一,市長白思豪(Bill de Blasio)簽署了這項新法律,該法律將為紐約市酒店員工提供至關重要的安全保障,並將大大加強對前來我們城市的消費者們的保護。

HTC主席Rich Maroko評論說:“4萬名HTC成員及其家人鼓掌並感謝市長、議長、和我們市議會中的所有朋友採取果斷的行動和關鍵措施,以防止在COVID-19疫情中獲利的小部分酒店老闆的不道德的行為。我們很幸運在這個城市和州當選的官員能在這個可怕的時期採取了勇敢和負責任的行動。”

為工人提供在酒店轉手或被迫結業的情況下的工作保障

根據新法律(簡稱為“ Intro 2049A”),任何在管理公司或老闆的變更或進入法院接管命令程序的的酒店,都必須以相同或更高的工資將員工保留至少90天。90天后,如果員工的工作表現令人滿意,酒店必須為其提供往後的工作。

這一重要的新法律保障措施為非工會酒店員工提供了為數不多的法律保護措施之一,這些員工作為“可隨意被解雇”的員工,通常可以出於任何原因或根本沒有任何理由就可以被不公正地解僱。據報導,全市的非工會酒店工人被酒店永久性解雇,老闆將這場疫情視為一次比以往都要大的幅度削減其勞動力成本的機會。

該法律還加強了對工會酒店工人的保護。酒店利用被接管和破產的方法來擺脫債務和違反合同條例,這都是作弊的行為。

多年來,作為我們工會的首席談判代表Rich Maroko設法贏得強有力的合同條例作為其主要優先任務之一。這大大增強了所有HTC合同中的工作保護,從而實行最強大的合同權利。他為了我們的合同條款更加有保障,孜孜不倦地倡導這項新法律。這項法律使得酒店更難使用破產法和接管來逃過我們的合同條例,這要求酒店的所有者都必須承擔我們的合同並留住工人。

例如,僅在幾個月前,希爾頓時代廣場酒店(Hilton Times Square)及其貸方因新觀疫情導致的金融危機而被迫關閉酒店,隨後他們偷偷向聯邦法院的法官要求由“接手人”來管理酒店的命令,直到貸方完成贖回為止。他們有效地要求法官賦予接管人逃過任何合同條例並解僱所有僱員的權利,並且法官同意其違反工會合同德行為。在這種情況下,Rich和他的律師團隊能夠使用我們合同的強硬措辭,說服仲裁員對雇主施加重罰,直到其同意放棄接受破產管理的要求。如果沒有這項措施,那麼所有員工都可能會失業。

有了這項新法律,任何企圖違反合同的雇主也將違反法律。

新的消費者保護措施將加強紐約市的旅遊業

近年來,Rich Maroko還成功地倡導了我們工會管轄範圍內各個地方和州立法,要求酒店提前告知客人如有服務中斷(包括一些罷工和其他示威遊行)的發生,並允許在這種情況下的客人取消他們的預訂。

這類法律已經在其他城市頒布,例如當時在在奧爾巴尼(Albany)的奧爾巴尼希爾頓酒店(Hilton Albany)酒店的客人看到了示威者們,他們感到憤怒,因為他們發現酒店沒有事先通知我們這邊有罷工的行動。

現在,前往紐約市的遊客將享有同樣在服務中斷之前(無論是示威或是障礙通道)都可以提前知道的權力,並可以選擇是否選擇其他酒店。

這項規定大大增強了消費者的信心,因此也增強了紐約市經濟中至關重要的旅遊業。在疫情之後迫切需要這種提振措施以鼓勵紐約遊客再次到來之時重振酒店業。

儘管右翼政治人士對所謂的“放逐”採取了各種不誠實的言論,但事實上,生意的成敗往往需要聰明而明智的政府監管。例如,合法的賭場和賽馬場運營商依賴可靠且強大的政府法律和法規來防止作弊,以便其客戶可以放心其經營的賭業是乾淨的並且不是內定的。相同的原則適用於許多行業,在這些行業中消費者的信心取決於明智的法規,例如:建築物、電氣、健康法規、誠實的廣告法律、借貸法律、租金法規、食品安全法律、以及確保安全和有效性的處方藥法規。

這項新法律將大大改善紐約市的住宿和旅遊業的長期健康。

在綫觀看簽署儀式

在2020年9月28日星期一,紐約市市長白思豪(Bill de Blasio)舉行了在線Intro 2049A法律的簽署儀式。HTC主席Rich Maroko在該活動中談到了這項新法規的重要性。請觀看以下視頻:

 

再次提醒了建立基層工會政權的重要性

T有些人認為,政治應該是富豪和腐敗的公司法人才玩得起的遊戲。

我們工會的政治計劃表明,當工人組織和自願進行大量選舉以選出願意與大眾同一陣線的政治候選人時,良好的政府是可以實現的。

NYC City Council Passes and Mayor de Blasio Signs Law Protecting Hotel Workers and Guests

On Monday, September 28, 2020, NYC Mayor Bill de Blasio held an online ceremony and signed Intro 2049A into law alongside HTC President Rich Maroko.

September 30, 2020 3:10 PM

Last Wednesday, by a vote of 45 to 4, the NYC City Council passed, and on Monday, Mayor Bill de Blasio signed, a new law which will provide vital security for New York City hotel workers, and which will also greatly enhance consumer protections for people traveling to our city.

HTC President Rich Maroko commented, “40,000 HTC members and their families applaud and thank the mayor, the speaker, and all our friends in the City Council for acting decisively to enact critical measures to prevent a small, unscrupulous segment of the hotel owners in this city from exploiting the COVID-19 disaster to profiteer. We are fortunate to have elected officials in this city and state who have acted courageously and responsibly in these terrible times.”

Job security for workers if a hotel changes hands or is foreclosed on

Under the new law, simply titled “Intro 2049A,” any hotel that changes management or ownership, or goes into court-ordered receivership, is required to retain the employees for at least 90 days at the same or a higher wage rate. After 90 days, the hotel must offer the workers continued employment if their performance is satisfactory.

This important new legal safeguard provides one of the few protections in law for non-union hotel workers who, as “at-will” employees, are generally completely vulnerable to being fired or laid off unjustly, for any or no reason. Non-union hotel workers across the city have reported being permanently thrown out on the street by non-union hotels who see the pandemic as an opportunity to drastically cut their labor costs even more than they have in the past.

This law also bolsters protections for unionized hotel workers. Receivership and bankruptcy laws are used by companies to get out of their debts and to renege on their contracts, effectively using them as a license to cheat.

For years, as our Union’s chief negotiator, Rich Maroko has made it one of his major priorities to devise and win powerful contract language which has greatly reinforced the job security protections in all HTC contracts, resulting in the strongest such contractual rights anywhere. This new law, which he worked tirelessly to advocate, backs up those contract provisions. It makes it more difficult for hotels to try to use bankruptcy laws and the appointment of receivers to get around our contract, which requires any new owner of a hotel to assume our contract and keep the workers.

For example, only a few months ago, the owner of the Hilton Times Square and its lender, which was in the process of foreclosing on the hotel as a result of the financial crisis caused by the COVID crisis, snuck into federal court and asked a judge to appoint a “receiver” to manage the Hotel pending the lender’s completion of its foreclosure. They effectively asked the judge to give the receiver the right to tear up any contracts and fire all the employees and the judge agreed, in violation of the union contract. In this case, Rich and his team of lawyers were able to use our contract’s strong language to persuade an arbitrator to impose heavy penalties on the owner until it agreed to drop its request for a receivership. If that hadn’t worked, all the employees might have lost their jobs.

With this new law, any owner who tries to violate the contract will now also be violating the law.

New consumer protections to strengthen tourism to NYC

Rich Maroko has also, in recent years, successfully advocated for local and state legislation in various parts of our union’s jurisdiction, requiring hotels to inform guests of service disruptions (including some picket lines and other demonstrations) in advance and allowing guests in such situations to cancel their reservations.

Such laws have already been enacted in other cities, like Albany, where our picketers at the Hilton Albany encountered many hotel guests who were outraged to discover that the hotel had neglected to inform them in advance of our picket line.

Now, visitors to New York City will enjoy the same right to know in advance of any service disruptions, whether they be picket lines or handicap accessibility, and choose whether or not to go to a different hotel.

This provision greatly enhances consumer confidence, and consequently, the vitally important tourism sector of New York City’s economy. This boost is something that is desperately needed in the wake of the pandemic to encourage travelers to come back to New York and restart the hotel industry.

Despite all the dishonest right-wing political rhetoric about so-called “deregulation,” the fact is that prosperous business often requires intelligent and wise government regulation. For example, legitimate casino and racetrack operators depend on reliable and strong government laws and regulations against cheating by the house so that its customers can trust that the games it runs are clean and not fixed. The same principle applies in many industries in which consumer confidence depends on intelligent regulation, such as building, electrical, and health codes, truth-in-advertising laws, lending laws, rent regulations, food safety laws, and regulations ensuring the safety and efficacy of prescription drugs.

This new law will greatly enhance the long-term health of lodging and tourism in New York City.

Watch the online signing ceremony

On Monday, September 28th, 2020, NYC Mayor Bill de Blasio held an online ceremony and signed Intro 2049A into law. HTC President Rich Maroko spoke at the event about the importance of this new legislation. Watch the video below:

 

Another reminder of the importance of building grassroots union political power

There are those who believe the political process should be the exclusive domain of a rich and corrupt corporate oligarchy.

Our Union’s political program demonstrates that when working people organize and volunteer in large numbers to elect political candidates who are on the side of ordinary people, good government is actually achievable.