參議員Chuck Schumer是如何拯救我們的診所中心

2021年3月16日 下午3點30分

美國救援計劃是擔任參議院多數黨領袖的紐約參議員Chuck Schumer的首次重大考驗,他不僅設法提供了美國歷史上最全面的恢復計劃,而且他千方百計地做到了。 結果是一項法案,該法案將資助全國疫苗接種工作,挽救我們飽受摧殘的經濟,最重要的是,它將為因COVID-19疫情造成的經濟破壞而失去工作和醫療保險的數百萬美國人提供巨大的利益。

Schumer參議員以零反對率通過了美國救援計劃。民主黨在參議院中擁有的席位不多,以50:50的比例分裂,副總統Kamala Harris進行了決勝局投票。不出所料,由參議院少數黨領袖Mitch McConnell領導的共和黨人對阻止任何民主黨支持的事情持堅定態度,沒有一個共和黨人投票支持這項救濟法案。

因此,參議員Schumer必須讓每個民主黨人團結一致-從最自由派到最溫和派。

Schumer在周三晚間新聞對MSNBC的Lawrence O’Donnell說:“這次的賭注太高了,為了擊敗COVID-19,防止我們的經濟崩潰,並挽救工人的生命和生計。

HTC總裁Rich Maroko說道:“參議員多數黨領袖Schumer的敏銳性和強硬性導致通過了一項法案,該法案將毫不誇張地挽救了成千上萬人的生命,重建了我們的經濟,並防止了數百萬下崗工人在美國失去家園和積蓄。他對紐約人和紐約酒店工作人員的關心和奉獻,參議員保障了我們的醫療計劃,還保護了成千上萬的下崗酒店工作人員及其家庭免於經濟崩潰。”

我們的醫療中心是如何將其納入美國救援計劃

通常,我們認為我們在製定國家政策方面不會發揮任何作用。《美國援救計劃》的演變證明,當我們足夠多的人以統一的聲音向立法者訴說時,我們的聲音不僅能被聽見,而且還具有做出改變的意願和能力,我們可以做到。實際上,我們工會在《美國救援計劃》的第628頁中的幾項重要醫療保險規定方面發揮了作用。

自去年參議員Schumer擔任少數黨領袖以來,HTC主席Rich Maroko經常與Schumer討論有關在疫情期間對我們會員工作的影響,尤其是對我們醫療體系的影響。參議員Schumer和主席Maroko共同努力,尋求解決我們會員面臨的醫療危機的方案。由於當時參議院由共和黨控制,因此參議員Schumer在去年12月下旬的最後一次救濟法案中未能盡力而為。

今年,在就《美國援救計劃》進行談判時,參議員Schumer及其工作人員數十次與主席Maroko和工會的政治團隊進行了如何為我們30,000名紐約市成員及其60,000名家屬恢復醫療保險的探討。

一種解決方案:COBRA補貼。在與主席Maroko協商後,參議員Summer明白了為COBRA籌集100%資金的緊迫性和緊迫性。當由雇主資助的醫療保險擴展延期結束時,只有極少數會員能夠負擔得起購買COBRA規定的正常健康保險所需的費用。 對於像我們這樣全面而高質量的計劃,COBRA每月的家庭保險費用可能高達$1,999.15美元。

眾議院在2月下旬通過了《美國援救計劃》,該版本將使COBRA的成本降低了85%。雖然意義非凡,但我們的家庭醫療保險計劃每月仍將花費$299.87美元。

“當您失業一年後,COBRA每月$300美元的價格仍然過高,” 主席Maroko解釋說。

如果大多數下崗地工人負擔不起85%的COBRA費用並決定不參加(這很有可能),儘管有補貼,我們的布魯克林和哈林區的診所中心仍將暫時關閉。

參議員Summer Schumer奮戰不息,將COBRA的成本降至$ 0。他還大幅降低了符合條件的醫療計劃的保費,並修改了法律,專門允許我們的福利基金會有資格獲得PPP貸款。首先,這需要使501c(9)組織(如我們的福利基金)有資格獲得這些貸款,其次是調整資格門檻,以便我們的福利基金會取得資格。

在COBRA補貼和破格領取PPP貸款之間,我們的福利基金會可以獲得數百萬美元的救濟,使我們能夠召回數百名醫務人員,並重新開放哈林和布魯克林區的診所中心。我們的會員及其家人不僅將在9月30日之前恢復他們的健康保險,而且數百萬的失業美國人也將被救濟。

參議員Chuck Schumer說:“當COVID-19席捲全國時,我和我的民主黨同事發現,為保護美國人的醫療保險所做的工作很少,這是絕對不合理的。我與HTC主席Maroko和您的工會合作感到非常自豪,能確保在此次疫情中失業的紐約酒店業人員能夠再次獲得醫療福利,而無需支付額外費用。”

我們永恆的感激之情

主席Maroko表示:“參議院多數黨領袖從未完成過像《美國救援計劃》這樣大膽的法案。參議員Schumer有膽量為工人而戰,他有贏得勝利所需的技能。我們欠他不朽的感激。”

我們的福利基金會正在等待聯邦政府更多細節的公布。當我們收到有關如何註冊COBRA的說明後,我們將在網站上發布詳細信息。 在此之前,請不要與福利基金會聯繫或訪問基金會的辦公室進行諮詢有關COBRA的津貼。

要了解有關《美國援救計劃》的更多信息,請點擊此處。

How Senator Chuck Schumer Saved Our Health Centers

March 16, 2021 3:30 PM

The American Rescue Plan was the first major test for New York Senator Chuck Schumer in his new role as Senate Majority Leader and not only did he manage to deliver the most comprehensive recovery package in the history of our nation – he did it against all odds. The result is a bill that will fund a national vaccination effort, salvage our battered economy, and most importantly, will provide enormous benefits to millions of Americans who lost their jobs and health insurance because of the economic devastation wrought by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Senator Schumer passed the American Rescue Plan with zero margin for error. The Democratic Party has the slimmest majority possible in the Senate, with a 50-50 split and Vice President Kamala Harris casting the tie-breaking vote. As expected, the Republicans, led by Minority Leader Mitch McConnell in the Senate, were dead set on preventing any Democratic success and not a single Republican voted for the relief bill.

Therefore, Senator Schumer had to keep every single Democrat in line – from the most liberal to the most moderate.

“Failure was not an option,” Schumer told MSNBC’s Lawrence O’Donnell on Wednesday night. The stakes were too high: beating COVID-19, preventing the collapse of our economy, and saving the lives and livelihoods of working people.

“Senator Schumer’s acumen and toughness as Senate Majority Leader led to the passage of a bill that will, without exaggeration, save tens of thousands of lives, rebuild our economy, and prevent millions of laid off workers from losing their homes and savings across America,” remarked HTC President Rich Maroko “His concern for and dedication to New Yorkers, and New York hotel workers, as our Senator quite literally saved our health plan and protected tens of thousands of laid off hotel workers and their families from financial ruin right here at home.”

How Our Health Centers Made it into the American Rescue Plan

Oftentimes, we believe that we can’t play any role in shaping national policy. The evolution of the American Rescue Plan has proven that we can, when enough of us speak with a unified voice to a lawmaker that not only can hear us but has the will and ability to make changes. Our Union actually played a role in getting several important healthcare provisions included in the 628-page American Rescue Plan.

Since last year, when Senator Schumer was the minority leader, HTC President Rich Maroko has been in frequent conversation with Schumer about the effect the pandemic has had on our members’ jobs in general and on our healthcare system in particular. Senator Schumer and President Maroko worked together, looking for solutions to the healthcare crisis facing our members. Because the Senate chamber was controlled by the Republicans at the time, Senator Schumer was unable to accomplish as much in the last relief bill in late December.

This year, during negotiations over the American Rescue Plan, Senator Schumer and his staff spoke to President Maroko and the Union’s political team dozens of times to address how to restore healthcare coverage for our 30,000 NYC-based members and their 60,000 dependents.

One solution: subsidize COBRA. After consulting with President Maroko, Senator Schumer understood how urgent and vital it was to include nothing short of 100% funding for COBRA. When our employer-funded healthcare extension ended, very few members could afford to pay the cost to continue their normal health coverage under COBRA. For a plan as comprehensive and high quality as ours, COBRA can cost as much as $1,999.15 a month for family coverage.

The House of Representatives had passed a version of the American Rescue Plan in late February that would have slashed the cost of COBRA by 85%. While significant, our family healthcare plan would have still cost $299.87 a month.

“$300 a month for COBRA is still prohibitively expensive when you’ve been out of work for a year” explains President Maroko.

If enough laid off workers could not afford COBRA at 85% and decided not to opt-in (which was very likely), our Brooklyn and Harlem health centers would have remained temporarily closed, despite the subsidy.

Senator Schumer fought tooth and nail to bring the cost of COBRA to $0. He also dramatically lowered healthcare premiums for those on qualified health plans and amended the law to specifically allow our Benefit Funds to qualify for PPP loans. This involved first, making 501c(9) organizations, like our Benefit Funds, eligible for these loans and second, adjusting the eligibility thresholds so that our Benefit Funds could qualify.

Between COBRA subsidies and forgivable PPP loans, our Benefit Funds could receive millions of dollars in relief, allowing us to recall hundreds of medical personnel and reopen the Harlem and Brooklyn centers. And not only will our members and their families have their health insurance reinstated through September 30th, but so will millions of unemployed Americans.

“My Democratic colleagues and I find it absolutely unconscionable that so little was done to preserve healthcare for Americans as COVID-19 raged across our nation” said Senator Chuck Schumer. “I am very proud to have worked with HTC President Maroko and your Union to make sure that New York hospitality workers who have found themselves unemployed during this crisis are again able to access their hard-fought healthcare benefits at no additional cost.”

“Our Undying Gratitude”

“No Senate Majority Leader has ever accomplished anything close to passing a bill as audacious as the American Rescue Plan,” remarked President Maroko. “Senator Schumer had the guts to fight for working people, and the skill needed to win. We owe him our undying gratitude.”

Our Benefit Funds are waiting for more details from the federal government. Once we have instructions for how to sign up for COBRA, we will publish the details on our website. Until then, please DO NOT contact the Benefit Funds or visit the Funds’ office to inquire about subsidized COBRA.

    To read more about the American Rescue Plan, click here.