3,000名HTC代表的賭場工作人員重返工作崗位,其中許多人的工作甚至比以前更好

del Lago 渡假村和賭場的客房服務員Angila Burnett根據工會新的《冠狀病毒安全協議》的規定對公共區域進行消毒。在9月中旬,Angila和其他近3000名HTC代表的博彩業工作者重返工作崗位。
HTC主席Rich Maroko領導了與賭場的談判,並提起了仲裁案。在整場疫情中,該案共為博彩業的近5,000名下崗工人提供了醫療保險。Maroko主席在與在一年多前加入我們的工會的Empire City賭場的工人進行了交談。

2020年10月8日 下午1點55分

在9月初,在賭場因COVID-19疫情關閉了將近六個月之後,紐約州州長Cuomo允許該州的賭場以25%的容量開放,伴隨著3,000名工會工人的復工。

儘管全國各地的非工會酒店和博彩業工作者在COVID-19疫情中面臨危險的工作條件,但HTC代表的賭場工作者處於非常罕見的位置,他們在工作中得到了加強的保護,在疫情期間他們的工資和福利得到了改善。

在整個賭場關閉的期間都享有醫療福利

在3月16日,以防止COVID-19的傳播,州長Cuomo發布了一項要求關閉紐約州賭場的行政命令。這意味著我們工會中幾乎所有5,000名博彩業工作者都將被暫時停工。在往常來說,伴隨著停工帶來的就是醫療保險的失去。

HTC主席Rich Maroko解釋說:“當冠狀病毒襲擊紐約時,我們的首要任務就是確保我們的會員及其家人能保留健康保險。” “這是一項艱鉅的任務,該行業沒有任何收入,沒有人知道他們何時能夠安全地重新開放。加上在疫情之前,一些賭場已經陷入財務困境,而我們卻要讓他們花費數百萬美元。”

儘管面臨這些挑戰,我們通過精心設計的法律策略與我們強大而廣泛的合同條款相結合,Maroko主席和工會的法律團隊設法在疫情高峰期間確保了每個賭場的員工都能擁有持續的醫療保險。

在3月24日,在與雲頂賭場(Resorts World)進行談判時,工會使賭場公司同意為紐約市和Catskills的雲頂賭場支付為期六個月的醫療保險費用。

同時,工會為所代表得GRIWA合同的工人在仲裁案中取得了勝利。仲裁官裁定,GRIWA合同涵蓋的賭場必須為下崗工人支付6個月的醫療保險費用。這次的勝利意味著在Rivers、del Lago、Saratoga賭場酒店、和Jake’s 58的2000多名被停工的工會代表工人的享有額外六個月的醫療保險。

然後在5月初,工會使Empire City賭場的老闆MGM同意將被停工工人的醫療保險延長至2020年9月30日。

總而言之,這些醫療保險的延長為近5,000名成員及其家人帶來了安心。

“很難以言語表達出醫療保險的延長對我和我的兩個孩子意味著什麼。在去年,我患了重病,不得不接受大量的治療。由於我的病,我必須每天服藥並定期去看專科醫生。雲頂賭場Catskills的發牌員Vicky Rodriguez解釋說,失去保險對於我來說真是災難性的。

在疫情期間,雲頂賭場Catskills、Rivers賭場、和del Lago渡假村和賭場的數千名工人進行在線投票,以壓倒性的票數通過了他們的新工會合同。

HTC在疫情期間取得了三份賭場合同

隨著賭場暫時休業,HTC主席Rich Maroko和工會的法律團隊競相在他們的第一個工會合同到期之前,給雲頂賭場Catskills、Rivers、和del Lago談判合同的續期。每個新合同都對工資、福利、和帶薪休假進行了重大改進。

員工在工會總合同的規定下擁有3年以上的工作保障

在2018年,所有三個賭場都簽署了《大區域產業範圍協議》(Greater Regional Industry Wide Agreement “GRIWA”),這是我們工會在紐約州北部、新澤西州北部、和紐約市郊區的總合同。在今年春天達成的後續協議中,雲頂賭場Catskills、Rivers、和del Lago賭場都簽署了有效期至2023年3月31日的GRIWA協議。

根據GRIWA中的強硬合同條例,在疫情期間,賭場工作人員保留了重要的保護措施,包括被以年資高低的順序獲得工作召回權的權利、在持續停工期間獲得遣散費的權利、以及健康和安全的保護。

在封鎖期間獲得漲薪

在當前經濟充滿不確定性的時候,三個賭場工人的工資都上漲了。在4月1日,非小費的工人每小時增加$1美元,小費工人每小時增加$0.50美元。工人還保證在2021年4月和2022年4月期間非小費工人的工資增加$1.10美元,小費工人的工資增加$0.55美元。與工資相關的條款,例如:額外清潔房間的工資、夜班額外的工資、和賭桌額外的項目薪水也會逐年增加。

賭桌保底小費的增長

工會還贏得了發牌員和老虎機服務員的保底“小費”的增長。在經濟低迷的一周裡,賭場將必須保證這些小費員工收到保底“小費”或本週規定最低“小費”與實際“小費”之間的差額。

“我曾在幾個不同的賭場擔任發牌員。在過去淡季的時候,我冒著在上班路上與雇用保母看護孩子的花費比上班所賺取的工資還要高的風險來上班,”雲頂賭場Catskills的發牌員Alex Zheng解釋說。“鑑於賭場目前只能以25%的容量開放,賭桌的生意不好,而我們獲得的小費也比以前低了。但是,由於我們有最低保底的小費,我知道每次來上班都是值得的。”

在三份合同中的規定下,最低保底小費將增長至如下:

生效日期

保底小費

發牌員

老虎機服務員

2020年4月1日

$13.90 每小時

$12.90 每小時

2021年4月1日

$15.00 每小時

$14.00 每小時

2022年4月1日

$16.10 每小時

$15.10 每小時



更加平價的醫療保險

每年,全國各地的工人都面臨著醫療費用的上漲,對於許多(即使不是大多數)勞動人民來說,高質量的醫療保險是難以獲得的。但是,在接下來的三年中,我們的工會在每間賭場都確保了平價的醫療保險。

在雲頂賭場Catskills,員工的醫療費用固定為每月$5美元,家庭的醫療費用僅為每月$100美元。接下來在明年4月,工人們將可以選擇加入UNITE HERE HEALTH的行業計劃,這是一項黃金級保險計劃,一個家庭每月只需支付$25美元。

在Rivers和del Lago賭場,醫療費用將從2021年4月開始下降。在2021年4月,Rivers賭場的個人保險月保費將低至$2.50/月,家庭保險的月保費將低至$30/月。del Lago的員工可以在四個醫療保險計劃之間進行選擇,每個計劃的支出都會在2021年4月降低。然後,在2023年3月,這兩個賭場的工作人員都可以選擇加入UNITE HERE HEALTH的行業計劃。

在2021年4月,Rivers和del Lago的工會代表工人還將獲得額外健康報銷安排(HRA)卡的福利,該卡將為他們提供高達$100美元的合資格醫療費用,例如共同承擔的醫療費用和拿處方藥(OTC)。

更多的帶薪假期

每份新合同都提到了工會工人的額外帶薪休假。從2021年1月1日開始,Rivers和del Lago的工人將在獲得額外2天PTO。然後在2022年4月1日,現有PTO政策將被每年9天帶薪假期、每年10天病假/個人事假、和根據GRIWA中協商的員工服務年限的年假所取代。根據GRIWA,當工人在賭場工作滿兩年時,他們每年將有權享有總共29天的帶薪休假。這比Rivers賭場當前最多的21天PTO多了7天,比del Lago賭場當前最多18天多了11天。

在雲頂賭場Catskills的工人已經獲得了根據GRIWA規定的帶薪病假、個人事假、和年假。從2021年4月起,工會贏得了額外2個新假期:馬丁·路德·金日(Martin Luther King Jr.)和感恩節後的第二天(day after Thanksgiving)。這使他們最多有9個帶薪節日假期。

在十月初,del Lago渡假村和賭場的前台服務員Sennie Germontesalzman給客人登記入住。根據工會的冠狀病毒安全協議,客人必須戴上口罩和遵守社交規定,賭場必須在她的工作範圍內安裝障礙物。

六間HTC賭場簽署了嚴格的冠狀病毒安全協議

我們工會還與紐約市雲頂賭場、雲頂賭場Catskills、Rivers賭場、del Lago渡假村和賭場、Empire City賭場、和Saratoga賭場酒店協商了重新開放的協議。這些具有約束力的協議要求賭場採取額外的安全措施以保護員工和客人。

“拉斯維加斯的賭場在6月重新開放時,它們成為了該病毒的溫床。起初,客人不需要戴口罩,而且並不是所有的賭場都在對員工返回工作崗位時進行COVID-19的檢測。我們要確保紐約的賭場不要產生同樣的問題。”HTC主席Rich Maroko解釋說。

根據安全協議,客人和員工必須在進入娛樂場範圍之前量體溫。與檢測出陽性或發燒高於100.4華氏度的同事一起工作的員工將進行COVID-19檢測,並在檢測和等待結果的期間獲得額外的帶薪休假。如果員工的測試結果為陽性,他們有權獲得多達20天額外帶薪病假的補償。

在娛樂場所得範圍內,要求員工和玩家始終佩戴口罩,娛樂場必須定期對老虎機和賭桌設備進行消毒、補充充足的洗手液、和加強社交距離。

del Lago賭場和渡假村的工會代表Jason Donnelly說:“最重要的是,我和我的同事都不能因舉報違反安全協議而受到報復。我們有能力和動力來確保賭場合規並為我們和玩家提供安全的環境。”。

您可以在此處查閱安全協議的完整說明。

Nicole Landano自2011年開業以來一直在紐約雲頂賭場擔任飲料服務員。根據工會協議的條款,Nicole在年底前將獲得超過$10,000美元的遣散費、醫療費、並將保留賭場重新開放飲料服務時重返工作的權利。
紐約市雲頂賭場的工人在2013年10月慶祝他們的第一份HTC合同。該協議使夜班工資翻了一番(並在合同期內增加了三倍)、為工人提供了免費的家庭醫療、牙科和眼科、退休金計劃、以及重要的工作保障的保護。

為仍停工的工人提供遣散費和醫療保險

目前,賭場只能以25%的容量重新開放,許多工會工人尚還不能被召回工作。作為重新開放協議的一部分,賭場必須在今年年底之前為下崗工人提供遣散費和持續的醫療保險。

遣散費的總額是根據每份賭場的主合同確定的。GRIWA合同(雲頂賭場Catskills、Rivers賭場,del Lago賭場和Saratoga 賭場酒店)所覆蓋的合資格工人,每年服務年限將獲得五(5)天的遣散費。符合資格的紐約市雲頂賭場和帝Empire City賭場工人,根據其合同,每年的服務年限將為四(4)天的遣散費,因為他們的工資比《全行業協議(Industry Wide Agreement)》高。那些獲得遣散費的工人將保留其召回權,一旦他們的工作再次被需要,他們將按照資歷順序被召回工作。

我們的工會改變了紐約的博彩產業

毫無疑問,如果不是我們工會的話,紐約的賭場工作人員將不會像今天一樣。

大概在十年前,紐約還沒有真正的賭場。HTC主席Rich Maroko和當時的主席Peter Ward利用我們工會的新興政治力量來敦促立法者和博彩業與我們合作,確保紐約未來的賭場工作將是良好和安全的工作,工人享有公平加入工會的機會。

當時隨著賭場的開業,工人只能領到貧困線的工資,很少的福利,並且因為害怕被開除而工作。在接下來的幾年中,有5,000人選擇加入我們的工會。由於這個決定,今天他們有了可以維持家庭開支的工作:擁有工資高和平價醫療的工作,以及一些最強大的工作保障條款和安全保護措施。

HTC賭場區域主任Steve Miller解釋道:“最終,不管雇主多麼在乎員工,賭場都要對其業主和股東負責。 他們的目標是確保如何保證利潤的增加,這就是為什麼工人參加工會的原因。為員工的利益而奮鬥,確保他們能度過這場危機,甚至在重返工作崗位時得到更好的工作,這是我們的工作,而不是賭場的工作”。

3,000 HTC-represented casino workers return to work, many to even better jobs than before

Angila Burnett, a Housekeeping Attendant at del Lago Resort & Casino, sanitizes the public areas according to the Union’s new Coronavirus Safety Agreement. Angila and nearly 3,000 other HTC-represented gaming workers returned to work in mid-September.
HTC President Rich Maroko led negotiations with the casinos, and filed an arbitration case, that collectively provided nearly 5,000 laid off workers in the gaming industry with health insurance throughout this public health crisis. Here, President Maroko speaks with workers at Empire City Casino when they joined our Union just over a year ago.

October 8, 2020 1:55 PM

In early September, after nearly six months of being shuttered due to COVID-19, New York Governor Cuomo permitted the state’s casinos to reopen at 25% capacity and 3,000 unionized casino workers returned to work.

While non-union hotel and gaming workers across the country face hazardous working conditions amidst COVID-19, HTC-represented casino workers are in the very rare position where their protections on the job have gotten stronger and their wages and benefits have improved during the pandemic.

Healthcare coverage throughout the closure

On March 16th, Governor Cuomo issued an executive order requiring the state’s casinos to close in order to prevent the spread of COVID-19. This meant layoffs for nearly all 5,000 of the gaming workers in our Union. Usually, with layoffs comes the loss of healthcare.

“When the Coronavirus struck New York, our top priority became making sure our members and their families didn’t lose health insurance,” explains HTC President Rich Maroko. “It was a monumental task. The industry was not bringing in any money, no one knew when they would be able to safely reopen, and some of the casinos were already in financial distress before the pandemic. And what we were asking for was going to cost them millions.”

Despite these challenges, through a combination of well-crafted legal strategies and our powerful and expansive contract language, President Maroko and the Union’s legal team managed to secure healthcare extensions at each casino during the height of the pandemic.

On March 24th, in negotiations with Resorts World, the Union got the company to agree to pay for six months of extended healthcare at Resorts World Catskills and Resorts World NYC.

At the same time, the Union won a case at arbitration on behalf of workers represented by the GRIWA contract. The arbitrator ruled that casinos covered by the GRIWA must pay for 6 months of extended healthcare for laid off workers. This victory meant over 2,000 union-represented workers at Rivers, del Lago, Saratoga Casino Hotel, and Jake’s 58 would keep their healthcare for six more months, despite being laid off.

Then in early May, the Union got MGM, the owners of Empire City Casino, to agree to extend healthcare for laid off workers through September 30, 2020.

All told, these healthcare extensions brought relief to nearly 5,000 members and their families.

“It is hard to put into words what the healthcare extension meant to me and my two children. Last year, I suffered a serious illness and had to undergo extensive treatment. Because of my illness, I have to take medication daily and go to regular specialist appointments. It would have been devastating to lose my insurance,” explained Vicky Rodriguez, a Table Games Dealer at Resorts World Catskills.

During the pandemic, thousands of workers at Resorts World Catskills, Rivers, and del Lago Resort & Casino voted online to overwhelmingly ratify their new union contracts.

HTC wins three casino contracts during pandemic

As the casinos temporarily closed their doors, HTC President Rich Maroko and the Union’s legal team raced to negotiate contract extensions at Resorts World Catskills, Rivers, and del Lago before their first union contracts expired. Each of the new contracts contained significant improvements to wages, benefits, and paid time off.

3 more years of security under the Union’s master contract

In 2018, all three casinos had signed the Greater Regional Industry Wide Agreement (“GRIWA”), our Union’s master contract for upstate New York, northern New Jersey and the suburbs of New York City. In the successor agreements negotiated this spring, Resorts World Catskills, Rivers, and del Lago signed on to the GRIWA through March 31, 2023.

Under the strong contract language in the GRIWA, casino workers retained important protections during the pandemic including the right to be recalled to work in order of seniority, the right to severance pay during an extended layoff, and health and safety protections.

Wage increases were locked in

In this time of great economic uncertainty, workers at all three casinos received a wage increase. On April 1st, non-tipped workers received a $1/hour increase and tipped workers got a $0.50/hour increase. Workers are also guaranteed wage increases of $1.10 for non-tipped workers and $0.55 for tipped workers in both April 2021 and April 2022. Wage-related items like extra room pay, night shift differential, and extra game pay will also increase annually.

An increase to the minimum toke rate

The Union also won an increase to the minimum “toke rate” for Dealers and Slot Attendants. During slow weeks, the casino will have to guarantee that these tipped employees receive the minimum “toke rate” or pay the difference between the minimum “toke rate" and the “toke rate” for the week.

“I’ve worked as a table games dealer for at several different casinos. In the past, when it was slow, I risked spending more money commuting to work and paying for childcare than I made during my shift,” explains Alex Zheng a table games dealer at Resorts World Catskills. “Given that the casino can only open at 25% capacity for now, the tables are slow, and our tips are lower. But because we have a minimum toke rate, I know each shift is going to be worth my while.”

Minimum toke rates will increase as follows under each of the three contracts:

Increasingly affordable healthcare

Each year, workers across our country face rising healthcare costs and for many – if not most – working people, high-quality health insurance is out of reach. However, at each of these casinos, our Union secured affordable healthcare for the next three years.

At Resorts World Catskills, healthcare costs were locked in at rates of only $5/month for employee coverage and $100/month for family coverage. Then, next April, workers will have the option to switch into the UNITE HERE HEALTH Industry Plan, a gold-level plan that costs only $25/month for family coverage.

At both Rivers and del Lago, healthcare costs will go down starting in April 2021. At Rivers, individual coverage will go as low as $2.50/month for individual coverage and $30/month for family coverage in April 2021. At del Lago, employees can choose between four healthcare plans, with each plan decreasing in cost in April 2021. Then, in March 2023, workers at both casinos will have the option to enroll in the UNITE HERE HEALTH Industry Plan.

In April 2021, union-represented workers at Rivers and del Lago will also get an added benefit of a Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA) card, which will provide them with up to $100.00 towards qualified medical expenses like co-pays and over-the- counter medicine.

More paid time off

Each of the new contracts includes additional paid time off for union workers. At Rivers and del Lago, workers will get 2 additional PTO days in their bank starting January 1, 2021. Then on April 1, 2022, the existing PTO policy will be replaced with 9 paid holidays per year, 10 sick/personal days a year, and vacation based on an employee’s years of service as negotiated in the GRIWA. Under the GRIWA, when workers reach two years at the casino, they will be entitled to a combined 29 paid days off each year. That’s 7 more PTO days than Rivers’s current maximum of 21 days, and 11 more days than del Lago’s current maximum of 18 days.

At Resorts World Catskills, where workers already receive the paid sick, personal, and vacation days in the GRIWA, the Union won 2 new holidays effective April 2021: Martin Luther King Jr. Day and the day after Thanksgiving. This brings them up to 9 paid holidays.

Sennie Germontesalzman, a Front Desk Agent at del Lago Resort & Casino checks guests in to the hotel in early October. Under the Union’s Coronavirus safety agreement, guests must wear masks, adhere to social distancing, and the casino had to install barriers at her work station.

Six HTC Casinos sign strict Coronavirus safety agreement

Our Union also negotiated reopening agreements with Resorts World NYC, Resorts World Catskills, Rivers Casino, del Lago Resort & Casino, Empire City Casino, and Saratoga Casino Hotel. These binding agreements require the casinos to implement additional safety measures to protect both employees and guests.

“When the casinos reopened in Las Vegas in June, they became a hotbed for the virus. At first, guests were not required to wear masks and not all of the casinos were testing employees for COVID-19 as they returned to work. We wanted to make sure that the casinos in New York did not have the same problems,” explains HTC President Rich Maroko.

Under the safety agreements, guests and employees must have their temperatures checked before entering the casino. Employees who work alongside a coworker who tests positive or who have a fever above 100.4 degrees will be paid to get tested for COVID-19 and get additional paid time off while they wait for their results. If an employee tests positive, they are entitled to up to 20 additional paid days off to recover.

On the casino floor, employees and players are required to wear masks at all times and the casino must regularly disinfect slot machines and table game equipment, stock hand sanitizer, and enforce social distancing.

“Most importantly, my coworkers and I can’t be retaliated against for reporting violations of the safety agreement. We have the ability, and the motivation, to make sure that the casinos comply and remain safe for both us and the players,” said Jason Donnelly, a union delegate at del Lago Resort & Casino.

A complete description of the safety agreement can be found here.

Nicole Landano has worked as a Beverage Server at Resorts World Casino NYC since it opened 2011. Under the terms of the Union’s agreement, Nicole is getting over $10,000 in severance pay, medical through the end of the year, and will retain her right to return to work when the casino brings back beverage service.
Workers at Resorts World NYC celebrated their first HTC contract in October 2013. The agreement doubled wages overnight (and tripled them over the life of the contract), gave workers free family medical, dental, and vision, a pension plan, and critical job security protections.

Severance and healthcare for workers who remain laid off

Currently, the casinos are permitted to reopen at only 25% capacity and many union workers have not been called back to their jobs right away. As part of the re-opening agreements, the casinos will have to provide severance pay and continued healthcare for laid off workers through the end of this year.

The severance amount is determined based on each casino’s master contract. Eligible workers covered by the GRIWA (Resorts World Catskills, Rivers, del Lago, and Saratoga Casino Hotel) will receive five (5) days of severance pay for each year of service. Eligible workers at Resorts World NYC and Empire City Casino will receive four (4) days for each year of service under their contract, given the higher wage rates consistent with the Industry Wide Agreement. Those workers who receive severance will keep their recall rights, and as soon as their work becomes available, will be called back to work in order of seniority.

Our Union has transformed NY’s gaming industry

There is no question that New York’s casino workers would not be in the position that they find themselves in today if it weren’t for our Union.

Less than a decade ago, New York didn’t have full-service casinos. HTC President Rich Maroko and then-President Peter Ward used our Union’s budding political power to press lawmakers and the gaming industry to work with us to make sure that New York’s future casino jobs would be good, secure jobs and that workers had a fair shot at joining a union.

As the casinos opened, workers received poverty-level wages, few benefits, and worked in fear of being arbitrarily fired. Over the next few years, 5,000 made the choice to join our Union. Because of that decision, today they have jobs they can support a family on: jobs with good wages, affordable healthcare, and some of the strongest job security and safety protections in the country.

“Ultimately, no matter how much an employer cares about their employees, the casinos are accountable to the owner and shareholders. Their goal is to protect and to grow their profits. That’s why workers join unions. It’s our job, not the casino’s, to fight for the interests of the employees and make sure that they pull through this crisis and even come back to better jobs than before,” explains HTC Regional Casino Director Steve Miller.